By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more

toggle menu

Woodwork.

Wood and clay – traditional materials that are nevertheless highly relevant to 21st-century construction. We have been planning and building with wood for many years already. What makes this special, is that we combine our woodwork expertise with our knowledge of steelwork and concrete construction.

We see the materials (wood, steel, concrete or masonry) as means to an end: The best possible material is derived from structural planning, underground engineering, the location, facade planning and potential resource savings. Our result can be a wooden structure, but does not necessarily have to be.

This means that whatever our office selects, the building’s appearance and material are not yet fixed. Our clients are presented with an overall concept and the optimal solution from among a multitude of alternatives.

Foto: Delphine Blauer
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
Foto: Marilyne Anderson
© ZPF Ingenieure
© ZPF Ingenieure
© ZPF Ingenieure
© ZPF Ingenieure

Smart Living Lab
Designed on the basis of a global vision and the result of a parallel study contract won in 2019 by the team HOP, comprising Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer and ZPF Ingenieure, the innovative and scalable Smart Living Lab building is entering the realisation phase in 2021. This new building, which will be made available to 130 researchers from EPFL, the Fribourg School of Engineering and Architecture, and the University of Fribourg, is planned in accordance with the Swiss government’s 2050 energy targets.

In order to reach these targets, the structure has been developed as a glued laminated timber frame (post-and-beam) construction based on an efficient grid system with prefabricated timber framework ceilings and planned in 3D. However, this compact wooden building not only houses an institute, it also serves as a research object itself.

mehr zum Projekt

More woodwork projects.

Contact partners.

Nico Ros

Grad civil eng FH SIA · BA Management

Basel · +41 61 386 99 79

Manuel Wehrle

MSc ETH civil eng

Basel · +41 61 386 99 71

Spectral planning.

Mit der Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr erfahren

toggle menu

Holzbau.

Holz und Lehm – traditionelle Materialien und doch massgebend für das Bauen im 21. Jahrhundert. Schon seit vielen Jahren planen und bauen wir mit Holz. Das Besondere: Wir verbinden unsere Expertise im Holzbau mit unserem Wissen im Stahl- und Betonbau.

Wir sehen die Materialien – Holz, Stahl, Beton oder Mauerwerk – als Mittel zum Zweck: Das bestmögliche Material ergibt sich aus der Tragwerkplanung, dem Tiefbau und Standort, der Fassadenplanung und aus möglichen Einsparungen an Ressourcen. Unser Ergebnis kann – muss aber nicht zwingend ein Holzbau sein.

Das heisst: Mit der Wahl unseres Büros ist das Erscheinungsbild und das Material eines Gebäudes noch nicht festgelegt. Unsere Auftraggeber erhalten ein Gesamtkonzept und die optimale Lösung aus einer Vielzahl an Varianten.

Foto: Delphine Blauer
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
© Team HOP
Foto: Marilyne Anderson
BIM-Modell © ZPF Ingenieure
BIM-Modell mit Projektion © ZPF Ingenieure
© ZPF Ingenieure
© ZPF Ingenieure

Smart Living Lab

Auf Grundlage einer globalen Vision entworfen und Ergebnis eines parallelen Studienauftrags, den das Team HOP aus Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer und ZPF Ingenieure 2019 gewonnen hat, geht das innovative und skalierbare Gebäude Smart Living Lab 2021 in die Realisierungsphase. Der Neubau, der 130 Forschenden von EPFL, Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg und Universität Freiburg zur Verfügung stehen wird, ist entsprechend den Energiezielen 2050 des Bundes geplant.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen ist die Struktur als Brettschichtholzrahmenkonstruktion (Pfosten-Riegel) basierend auf einem effizienten Rastersystem mit vorgefertigten Holzkastendecken entwickelt und in 3D geplant. Der kompakte Holzbau ist aber nicht nur Heimat für das Institut, er dient auch selbst als Forschungsobjekt.

Mehr zum Projekt

Weitere Holzbauprojekte.

Ansprechpersonen.

Nico Ros

Dipl. Bauingenieur FH SIA · BA Management

Basel · +41 61 386 99 79

Manuel Wehrle

MSc ETH Bauingenieur

Basel · +41 61 386 99 71

Spektrale Planung.