By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more

toggle menu

Pathology.

Overview

Institutes for pathology and forensic medicine

St. Gallen, Switzerland

Competition 1st prize 2005

Project and realisation 2007-2011

 

Client

Hochbauamt St.Gallen, Switzerland

Architecture

Silvia Gmür und Reto Gmür, Basel, Switzerland

Awards

best architects 12

The new building for the institutes of forensic medicine and pathology is situated on the site of the St. Gallen Cantonal Hospital on the edge of the St. Fiden district and comprises two upper floors, one ground floor and two underground floors. The square volumes above and below ground are skewed in relation to each other, producing atriums and overlaps.

The laboratories can be freely partitioned with a grid spacing of 1.50 m and the technical infrastructure is independent from the laboratories: the utilities are distributed from the ring-shaped corridor, resulting in maximum flexibility.

 

The aluminium facade gives the complex spatial structure a uniform appearance. Sections have been cut out and folded out of the outer protective metal layer to reveal a second, glass skin. The folded-out metal elements become fixed brise-soleils that provide optimal protection from the sun while making maximum use of the light.

© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet

Similar projects.

Mit der Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr erfahren

toggle menu

Pathologie.

Übersicht

Institute für Pathologie und Rechtsmedizin

St. Gallen, Schweiz

Wettbewerb 1. Rang 2005

2006-2010

 

Bauherrschaft

Hochbauamt St.Gallen, Schweiz

Architektur

Silvia Gmür und Reto Gmür, Basel, Schweiz

Auszeichnungen

best architects 12

Der Neubau der Institute für Rechtsmedizin und Pathologie mit seiner charakteristischen Fassade befindet sich auf dem Areal des Kantonsspitals St. Gallen am Übergang zum Quartier St. Fiden und besteht aus zwei Ober-, einem Erd- und zwei Untergeschossen. Die ober- bzw. unterirdischen Volumen mit quadratischen Grundrissen sind zu einander gedreht, es entstehen Lichthöfe und gedeckte Bereiche.

Die Labore sind in einem Raster von 1.50m frei unterteilbar und technische Erschliessung ist nicht an die Labore gekoppelt, die Medien sind ringförmig im Korridor verteilt – so entsteht höchste Flexibilität.

 

Die Fassade aus Aluminium sorgt für ein einheitliches Erscheinungsbild des komplexen Raumgefüges. Die äussere schützende Metallschicht gibt durch Einschneiden und Herausklappen eine zweite, gläserne Haut frei. Die ausgeklappten Metallelemente werden zu feststehenden Sonnenflügeln, die optimierten Sonnenschutz bei maximaler Lichtausbeute bieten.

© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet

Ähnliche Projekte.