By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more

toggle menu

Pathology.

Overview

Institutes for pathology and forensic medicine

St. Gallen, Switzerland

Competition 1st prize 2005

Project and realisation 2007-2011

 

Client

Hochbauamt St.Gallen, Switzerland

Architecture

Silvia Gmür und Reto Gmür, Basel, Switzerland

Awards

best architects 12

The new building for the institutes of forensic medicine and pathology is situated on the site of the St. Gallen Cantonal Hospital on the edge of the St. Fiden district and comprises two upper floors, one ground floor and two underground floors. The square volumes above and below ground are skewed in relation to each other, producing atriums and overlaps.

The laboratories can be freely partitioned with a grid spacing of 1.50 m and the technical infrastructure is independent from the laboratories: the utilities are distributed from the ring-shaped corridor, resulting in maximum flexibility.

 

The aluminium facade gives the complex spatial structure a uniform appearance. Sections have been cut out and folded out of the outer protective metal layer to reveal a second, glass skin. The folded-out metal elements become fixed brise-soleils that provide optimal protection from the sun while making maximum use of the light.

© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet

Similar projects.

En utilisant ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus

toggle menu

Pathologie.

Aperçu

Instituts de pathologie et de médecine légale

Saint-Galle, Suisse

Concours 1er prix 2005

Projet et réalisation 2007-2011

 

Maître d'ouvrage

Hochbauamt Saint-Galle, Suisse

Architecture

Silvia Gmür et Reto Gmür, Bâle, Suisse

Distinctions

best architects 12

Le nouveau bâtiment de l’instituts de pathologie et de médecine légale à la façade caractéristique se trouve sur le site de l’hôpital cantonal de Saint-Gall au niveau du passage vers le quartier St. Finden. Il est constitué de deux étages, d’un rez-de-chaussée et de deux sous-sols. Les volumes aériens et souterrains à la projection horizontale carrée ont été pivotés l’un par rapport à l’autre, ce qui crée des puits de lumière et des zones couvertes.

Les laboratoires peuvent être librement subdivisés selon un canevas de 1,50 m et l’aménagement technique n’est pas couplé aux laboratoires. Les fluides sont distribués de manière circulaire dans le couloir, ce qui offre une flexibilité maximale.

 

La façade en aluminium apporte une image homogène à cet ensemble de pièces complexe. La couche métallique protectrice extérieure laisse transparaître une deuxième enveloppe de verre à travers un jeu d’entailles et de plis. Les éléments métalliques rabattus constituent des pare-soleil fixes qui offrent une protection optimisée contre le soleil tout en exploitant sa lumière au maximum.

© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet

Projets similaires.