By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more

toggle menu

Auen

School.

Overview

Auen school complex, conversion, renovation, and expansion

Frauenfeld, Switzerland

Competition 1st prize 2014
Start of planning 12/2014
Commencement 01/2018
Completion 05/2020
Launch: Gymnasium 11/2019, school complex 08/2020

Client

Sekundarschulgemeinde Frauenfeld, Switzerland

Architecture

jessenvollenweider architektur, Basel, Switzerland

Construction Management

Roland Grandits, Architect HTL, Frauenfeld, Switzerland

Team ZPF

Konstantinos Adamakos, Isak Buljubasic, Heike Egli-Erhart, Antje Käser-Wassmer, Franck Mahler, Kata Aletta Orbán, Nico Ros, Robert Vögtlin, Manuel Wehrle

The 1960s Auen school complex in Frauenfeld by architects Barth and Zaugg is an exemplary work from the so-called ‘Solothurn School’ and is listed under ‘noteworthy post-1959’ in the Canton Thurgau Heritage Preservation Office’s reference inventory. The renovation and extension of this complex enhance the pre-existing ensemble and make its original concept perceptible again.

 

Along the complex’s central axis, three pavilion-like new structures sit between the pre-existing buildings. This ‘third lane’ leads to a densification, in which the ensemble’s original composition is preserved and simultaneously reinforced.

 

The architecture of the new structures (pavilion, break shelter and bicycle shelter) incorporates the structural logic of the pre-existing buildings. However, as open steel pavilions placed in the open space, they do not have a corporeal presence, but appear primarily as roofs supported by columns. Also to emphasise the relationship between the two new buildings, both pavilions’ steel support structures are on the outside. Consequently, the steel columns are shifted away from the corners and, despite all the similarities, make the different nature of the new structures in comparison to the pre-existing ones apparent.

© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider

Similar projects.

En utilisant ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus

toggle menu

École

Auen.

Aperçu

Reconstruction, réaménagement et extension du complexe scolaire Auen

Frauenfeld, Suisse

Concours 1er prix 2014

Début de planification 12/2014

Coup de bêche 21.08.2017
Mise en chantier 12/2018
Achèvement 05/2020
Mise en service: Gymnase 11/2019, complexe scolaire 08/2020

Maître d'ouvrage

Sekundarschulgemeinde Frauenfeld, Suisse

Architecture

jessenvollenweider architektur, Bâle, Suisse

Gestion de la construction

Roland Grandits, Architecte HES, Frauenfeld, Suisse

ÉquipeZPF

Konstantinos Adamakos, Isak Buljubasic, Heike Egli-Erhart, Antje Käser-Wassmer, Franck Mahler, Kata Aletta Orbán, Nico Ros, Robert Vögtlin, Manuel Wehrle

La rénovation et l’agrandissement du complexe scolaire Auen à Frauenfeld, un ouvrage exemplaire de l’École de Soleure, réalisé par les architectes Barth et Zaugg dans les années 1960 et répertorié comme « remarquable après 1959 » dans l’inventaire des monuments historiques du canton de Thurgovie, valorisent l’ensemble existant et rendent à nouveau perceptible son concept d’origine.

 

Le long de l’axe central du complexe, trois nouveaux bâtiments de type pavillonnaire ont fait surface entre les bâtiments existants. Cette « troisième voie » produit une densification, dans laquelle la composition initiale de l’ensemble est préservée et simultanément renforcée.

 

L’architecture des nouveaux bâtiments (pavillon, préau et abri vélo) intègre la logique structurelle des bâtiments existants. Cependant, disposés dans l’espace libre, ces pavillons ouverts en acier ne semblent pas avoir de présence physique, mais apparaissent avant tout tels des toits soutenus par des colonnes. Les structures porteuses en acier des deux pavillons sont externes, ce dans le but de souligner la relation des deux nouveaux bâtiments. Par conséquent, les colonnes en acier sont décalées des angles et, malgré toutes les similitudes, font apparaître la nature différente des nouvelles structures par rapport à celles existantes.

© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider
© jessenvollenweider

Projets similaires.