By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more

toggle menu

Nord-

spitze.

Overview

Basel Nordspitze

Basel, Switzerland

Competition 1st prize 2017

Client

Cooperative Migros Basel, Switzerland
Christoph Merian Stiftung, Basel, Switzerland

Architecture

Herzog & de Meuron, Basel, Switzerland

The transformation of the former duty-free depot Dreispitz in a mixed-use urban quarter is one of Basel's largest urban developments since the start of the 21st century. As site owner, the Christoph Merian Stiftung is funding this change, together with Canton Basel City and the Cooperative Migros Basel, which has operated at this location ever since the 1930s. Nordspitze constitutes the northern end of Dreispitz, right on the edge of Basel's city centre, and is simultaneously the eastern continuation of Gundeldingen, a so-called “Gründerzeit”quarter.

 

The proposed urban development Nordspitze seems to be based on a contradiction: creating a dense district and large public green areas at the same time. These opposites supplement and depend on each other, resulting in a design for a very dense and urban quarter with diverse open spaces for the neighbourhood and the city.

 

The high density is achieved by means of three high-rise buildings and an open perimeter block consisting of individual tall townhouses that stand close together and (unlike the Gundeldingen perimeter blocks) surround a publicly accessible space. This high built density stands alongside two new green areas: one at the end of Güterstrasse (almost a typical urban park) and the other in an elevated position on the roof of Migros, as a new kind of green typology in Basel with thematic references to nature and health. Nordspitze is an open quarter with developed areas and green areas in equal proportions.

© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron

Similar projects.

En utilisant ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. En savoir plus

toggle menu

Nord-

spitze.

Aperçu

Nordspitze

Bâle, Suisse

Councours 1er prix 2017

Maître d'ouvrage

Coopérative Migros Bâle, Suisse
Fondation Christoph Merian, Bâle, Suisse

Architecture

Herzog & de Meuron, Bâle, Suisse

La transformation de l’ancien entrepôt de transit douanier Dreispitz en un quartier à usage mixte est l’un des plus importants aménagements urbanistiques de Bâle depuis le début du 21ème siècle. En sa qualité de propriétaire foncier, la fondation Christoph Merian soutient cette réhabilitation avec l’aide du canton de Bâle-Ville et la coopérative Migros Bâle présente sur ce site depuis les années 1930. Formant la limite nord du Dreispitz, le Nordspitze jouxte le centre de Bâle et constitue le prolongement oriental du quartier historique de Gundeldingen.

 

Au cœur du projet urbanistique adopté pour le Nordspitze figure la contradiction apparente entre la création d’un quartier à forte densité et l’aménagement de vastes espaces verts publics. Ces oppositions se complètent, se conditionnent et débouchent sur un projet de quartier fortement urbanisé et dense, doté de multiples espaces libres pour les quartiers avoisinants et l’ensemble de la ville.

 

Trois tours et un îlot ouvert, formé de maisons urbaines individuelles en hauteur étroitement imbriquées et entourant un espace public (à la différence des autres îlots de Gundeldingen), créent cette forte concentration. À cette grande densité de constructions font face deux nouveaux espaces verts: le premier, un jardin public presque classique, à l’extrémité de la rue Güterstrasse; le second en toiture de la Migros, conçu comme une innovation en matière végétale dans le paysage bâlois avec des références thématiques à la nature et à la santé. Le Nordspitze est un quartier ouvert et équilibré entre zones construites et espaces verts.

© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron

Projets similaires.