By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more

toggle menu

Nord-

spitze.

Overview

Basel Nordspitze

Basel, Switzerland

Competition 1st prize 2017

Client

Cooperative Migros Basel, Switzerland
Christoph Merian Stiftung, Basel, Switzerland

Architecture

Herzog & de Meuron, Basel, Switzerland

The transformation of the former duty-free depot Dreispitz in a mixed-use urban quarter is one of Basel's largest urban developments since the start of the 21st century. As site owner, the Christoph Merian Stiftung is funding this change, together with Canton Basel City and the Cooperative Migros Basel, which has operated at this location ever since the 1930s. Nordspitze constitutes the northern end of Dreispitz, right on the edge of Basel's city centre, and is simultaneously the eastern continuation of Gundeldingen, a so-called “Gründerzeit”quarter.

 

The proposed urban development Nordspitze seems to be based on a contradiction: creating a dense district and large public green areas at the same time. These opposites supplement and depend on each other, resulting in a design for a very dense and urban quarter with diverse open spaces for the neighbourhood and the city.

 

The high density is achieved by means of three high-rise buildings and an open perimeter block consisting of individual tall townhouses that stand close together and (unlike the Gundeldingen perimeter blocks) surround a publicly accessible space. This high built density stands alongside two new green areas: one at the end of Güterstrasse (almost a typical urban park) and the other in an elevated position on the roof of Migros, as a new kind of green typology in Basel with thematic references to nature and health. Nordspitze is an open quarter with developed areas and green areas in equal proportions.

© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron

Similar projects.

toggle menu

Nord-

spitze.

Übersicht

Basel Nordspitze

Basel, Schweiz

Wettbewerb 1. Rang 2017

Bauherrschaft

Genossenschaft Migros Basel
Christoph Merian Stiftung, Basel

Architektur

Herzog & de Meuron, Basel, Schweiz

Die Transformation des ehemaligen Zollfreilagers Dreispitz in ein gemischt genutztes Stadtquartier ist eine der grössten städtebaulichen Entwicklungen Basels seit Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts. Die Christoph Merian Stiftung als Grundeigentümerin fördert diesen Wandel zusammen mit dem Kanton Basel-Stadt und der Genossenschaft Migros Basel, die schon seit den 1930er Jahren an diesem Standort tätig ist. Die Nordspitze stellt den nördlichen Abschluss des Dreispitz dar, grenzt unmittelbar an die Basler Innenstadt und ist gleichzeitig die östliche Fortsetzung des Gründerzeitquartiers Gundeldingen.

 

Der städtebauliche Vorschlag für die Nordspitze basiert auf dem scheinbaren Widerspruch, einen dichten Stadtteil und gleichzeitig grosse, öffentliche Grünräume zu schaffen. Diese Gegensätze ergänzen und bedingen sich und resultieren in einem Entwurf eines sehr dichten und urbanen Stadtquartiers mit vielfältigen Freiräumen für die Nachbarschaft und die Stadt.

 

Die hohe Dichte wird durch drei Hochhäuser und einen offenen Blockrand aus einzelnen hohen Stadthäusern erzielt, die in knappen Abständen zueinander stehen und – im Gegensatz zu den Gundeldinger Blockrändern – einen öffentlich zugänglichen Raum umfassen. Dieser hohen Dichte an Gebautem stehen zwei neue Grünräume gegenüber: der eine am Ende der Güterstrasse – fast ein typischer Stadtgarten – der andere erhöht auf dem Dach der Migros, als eine neuartige Grüntypologie in Basel mit thematischem Bezug zu Natur und Gesundheit. Die Nordspitze ist ein offenes Quartier mit gleichem Anteil an bebauter Fläche und Grünräumen.

© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron
© Herzog & de Meuron

Ähnliche Projekte.